This domain is for sale. Click here for more information.

DoorQ.Com | RIP horror novelists David B. Silva, James Herbert and Rick Hautala
RSS Feed

RIP horror novelists David B. Silva, James Herbert and Rick Hautala

As March nears an end, it will be noted for losing three horror novelists:

From Locus:

davidbsilva01Writer and editor David B. Silva, 62, died in early March, 2013.

Silva is best known for editing influential magazine The Horror Show, which ran from 1982-1991 . Silva won a World Fantasy Award in 1988 in the special, non-professional category for his work on the magazine. He also edited anthologies, including Post Mortem: New Tales of Ghostly Horror (1989) and Dead End: City Limits (1991), both with Paul F. Olson, as well as books collecting the best work from The Horror Show. From 1997-2002 he and Olson co-edited industry newsletter Hellnotes, for horror professionals and fans. In 2004, the newsletter was revived as a website.

Silva began publishing short fiction in 1981, and The Calling (1990) won a Bram Stoker Award. Several of his other stories were Stoker finalists, and collection Through Shattered Glass (2001) won an International Horror Guild Award; more stories were collected in Little White Book of Lies (2005) and The Shadows of Kingston Mills (2009). His standalone novels include Child of Darkness (1986), Come Thirteen (1988), The Presence (1994), The Disappeared (1995), All the Lonely People (2003). The Family series, written with Kevin McCarthy, includes Special Effects (2001) and Into the Darkness (2002).

James-Herbert-2_2515502bWriter James Herbert, 69, died March 20, 2013 at home in Sussex, England.

Herbert wrote 23 novels, most horror, many of them international bestsellers. His books include The Rats (1974), The Fog (1975), The Survivor (1976), Fluke (1977), The Spear (1978), Lair (1979), The Dark (1980), The Jonah (1981), Shrine (1983), Domain (1984), Moon (1985), The Magic Cottage (1986), Sepulchre (1987), Haunted (1988), Creed (1990), Portent (1992), The Ghosts of Sleath (1994), ’48 (1996), Others (1999), Once (2001), Nobody True (2003), The Secret of Crickley Hall (2006), and Ash (2012). He also wrote non-fiction and a graphic novel, and many of his works were adapted for TV, film, and radio.

Herbert was born April 8, 1943 in London, and attended St. Aloysius College and Hornsey College of Art. He worked in advertising, including as an art director, before becoming a full-time writer. Herbert was named a Grand Master by the World Horror Convention in 2010, the same year he was appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire. He is survived by wife Eileen O’Donnell, married in 1968, and their three daughters.

Rick HautalaWriter Rick Hautala, 64, died March 21, 2013 of a heart attack. Hautala wrote more than 30 novels (most horror) and scores of short stories, and is best known for the internationally-bestselling novel Night Stone (1986). Always a prolific writer, his novels The Demon’s Wife, Mockingbird Bay, and Star Road (with Matthew Costello) are all forthcoming. He also published several books under the name A.J. Matthews, co-wrote five novels in the Body of Evidence series with Christopher Golden, and authored screenplays.

He published several standalone novellas, and some of his short work has been collected in Bedbugs (1999), Four Octobers (2006), Untcigahunk (2007), and Occasional Demons (2010), and the forthcoming Glimpses: The Best Short Stories of Rick Hautala. Hautala was active in the Horror Writers Association, where he served terms as vice president and trustee.

Richard Henry Hautala was born February 3, 1949 in Rockport MA, and graduated from the University of Maine in 1974 with a Masters in English, focusing on Renaissance and Medieval literature. He lived in southern Maine, and is survived by his wife, writer Holly Newstein, and their three adult sons.

Leave a Reply
This domain is for sale. Click here for more information.
This domain is for sale. Click here for more information.